Nonexist was formed in 2000 when Johan Reinholdz presented some death/thrashmetal demo-tracks for Bengt ”Wez” Wenedikter of Swedish WAR-music (Darkane, Defleshed, Naglfar etc). Reinholdz’ other band Andromeda had recently signed a deal with WAR and now it was time for Nonexist to sign the papers. Ex-Arch Enemy/Furbowl/Carnage vocalist Johan Liiva was recruited along with Dark Funeral/Defleshed-drummer Matte Modin.

With no formal rehearsing under their belts the guys entered Abyss Studios in November 2001 and cut the tracks for the debutalbum Deus Deceptor which was put out on the market in May 2002. Following the release of the album Nonexist became nonexistent as the members went their separate ways – Reinholdz with Andromeda, Liiva with Hearse and Modin with Dark Funeral and Raised Fist among others.

However, in 2009 a collection of Nonexist-songs that were up to snuff emerged, the title From My Cold Dead Hands came about and Reinholdz started focusing on getting a sophomore album finished. In 2011 Liiva joined the band again and a contract was signed with American label Pivotal Rockorings for a digital release. 2012 was spent cutting the album at Multipass Studios with Reinholdz producing and mixing. From My Cold Dead Hands was finished in September and released in November.

Nonexist made their first gig ever at the Scorched Tundra Festival in Gothenburg, Sweden in December 2012. Around this time, the band’s music also made its way onto the videogame Rock Band. Nonexist signed a deal with Maryland-based company Rhythm Authors for selling downloadable songs for Rock Band.

Early 2013 the band signed with American Abyss Records and Japanese label Trooper Entertainment for a physical release of the album. This edition of From My Cold Dead Hands features three bonus tracks: cover-versions of Coroner’s Masked Jackal, Merciless’ Realm of the Dark and Eucharist’s Greeting Immortality.

In 2014 Nonexist started recording album number three entitled Throne of Scars. It features nine tracks and is produced and mixed by Johan Reinholdz at Multipass Studios with the assistance of Markus Nilsson at Sunnanå Studio in Malmö. The style of the songs retains the atmosphere from the previous album; dark, intense, varied and heavy while also adding some new influences in the mix. Throne of Scars was mixed and ready in April 2015 and during the same time the band signed a deal with Danish label Mighty Music.

Now in 2018 the band is ready with the new EP “In Praise of Death”!

“- in praise of deathmetal that is. This ep is an homage, a tribute to this genre that has meant so much to me, going back my childhood. The 80’s/early 90’s old-school bands and the melodic deathmetal bands of the early/mid 90’s bands in particular has inspired the music on this album. Therefore I want to thank these bands: Morbid Angel, Massacre, Merciless, Nihilst/Entombed, Carnage, Dismember, Death, Malevolent Creation, At the Gates, Carcass, Terrorizer, Dissection, Grave, Dark Tranquillity, Sepultura, Eucharist, Edge of Sanity, Pestilence, Deicide, Bolt Thrower and Vader. Also thanks to these guys for excellent guest-performances: Mikael Stanne, Chris Amott, Markus Johnsson, Kalle Nimhagen and Alexander Wittbom”. Reinholdz, Spring 2018.


Johan Reinholdz – guitars/bass/vocals


Joakim Strandberg Nilsson – drums
Johan Aldgård – guitar
Linus Abrahamson – bass





Mighty Music

Gasvaerksvej 1.
DK-1656 Copenhagen V