Since the formation of the band in 2009 Vanir have released five full-length albums with the latest release ‘Allfather’ through Mighty Music in early 2019.

Ten years ago in Roskilde Denmark a group of metal heads came together to play some Viking folk metal. It later evolved into Vanir. A lot has happened since then. Both when it comes the band and the bands visual and musical soundscape. While in the process of working on our 6th album, we thought it was important to mark our 10th year of raiding with Vanir!

And to mark this occasion we have re-recorded three of our songs from our debut album Særimners kød. The goal of the EP “10 Years Of Mead And Metal” is to capture the essence of our roots and mix it with the sound of what we aim at today as a band. With the heavier sounding Viking metal that Vanir represents today but with respect for the folk metal roots we came from.

To top it all we have recorded a cover from the Danish minstrel Kim Larsen with the lyrics from the poem of Nordahl Grieg – Kringsatt av fiender. This poem means a lot too many people and stands for unity in a world that tends to get more and more fragmented.


Vocals: Martin Håkan
Lead Guitars: Kirk Backarach
Rhythm Guitars: Phillip Kaaber
Bass: Lars Bundvad
Drums: Daniel Kronskov
Keys: Stefan Dujardin




10 Years Of Mead And Metal (2020)
Allfather (2019)
Aldar Rök (2016)
The Glorious Dead (2014)
Onwards Into Battle (2012)
Særimners Kød (2011)


Mighty Music

Vesterbrogade 45
1620 Copenhagen V