Mythery - Band Photo - Mighty Music


The Danish symphonic prog rock/metal band MYTHERY are ready with their debut album. In the past two years, mastermind Nikolaj Holger has worked intensively on writing “The Awakening of the Beast” – a grandiose symphonic masterpiece, meant to contribute with a fresh musical perspective to the genres of progressive rock and heavy metal! 

MYTHERY can hardly be labeled as a “typical metal band”, as the band members have very different musical backgrounds. Drummer, composer and lyricist Nikolaj Holger had by the end of 2010 recruited a bunch of very talented musicians to take part in what would become a very ambitious musical project. Nikolaj Holger met Laurits Emanuel (vocals), Simon Rabenhøj (guitars), Tobias Dall (bass) and Mikkel Rosenbeck (keyboards) while studying at the Rhythmic Music Conservatory in Copenhagen, and violinist Michala Høj was added to the line-up in late 2010.

The vision was to create a distinctive, trademark sound that could be traced back to the roots of symphonic and melodic metal and, at the same time, push the boundaries of these genres. The result of their collaboration – “The Awakening of the Beast” – draws inspiration from the progressive and melodic elements of Dream Theater and the symphonic elements of Nightwish.

Tobias Dall and Mikkel Rosenbeck are primarily jazz musicians, Michala Høj has a successful career as a classical musician behind her and vocalist Laurits Emanuel’s voice brings a touch of indie rock to the music. None the less, each member, and their individual qualities, contributes to the characteristic sound of MYTHERY and the bands musical vision is undeniable.

Together with producer Kristian Martinsen the band entered the studio to record their debut album in the summer of 2012. The nine track album consist of four single tracks and the 30-minute epic title track of the album “The Awakening of the Beast”, which is split up into five separate parts.

“The Awakening of the Beast” will be unleashed August 12th 2013 by Mighty Music/Target.


Nikolaj Holger – Drums
Laurits Emanuel – Vocals
Simon Rabenhøj – Guitars
Tobias Dall – Bass
Mikkel Rosenbeck – Keys
Michala Høj – Violin


Mythery - Awakening Of The Beast - Album Cover - Mighty MusicMYTHERY – The Awakening of the Beast

CD – 2013

Danish release: 12.08.2013
European release: 12.08.2013



Mythery - Press Photo - Mighty MusicDOWNLOAD BIO (PDF)





Mighty Music

Vesterbrogade 45
1620 Copenhagen V